Monday, January 12, 2015

Portugal Attacker Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2014 Fifa Ballon d'Or

Portuguese forward and Real Madrid delight Cristiano Ronaldo has clinched the 2014 Fifa Ballon d'Or ahead of Barcelona forward Lionel Messi who came second and Bayern Munich goalkeeper Manuel Neuer third, scooping up the glamorous individual award for the third time in his successful career.
Ronaldo enjoyed a massively successful 2014, in which he guided Madrid to Champions League glory by netting a record 17 goals in one campaign, and earned 37.66 per cent of the votes.

On an individual level, the 29-year-old won the Liga top scorer award by scoring 31 goals in 30 appearances, which also saw him crowned joint-winner of the European Golden Shoe together with Luis Suarez.

Ronaldo becomes the seventh player in history to successfully defend his Ballon d'Or title after Johan Cruyff, Kevin Keegan, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge, Michel Platini, Marco van Basten and Messi.

The Portugal international was first voted the world's best in 2008, when he pipped Messi and Fernando Torres to the coveted trophy. He then had to settle for second spot in 2009, 2011 and 2012 before winning the award a second time in 2013, this time ahead of Messi and Franck Ribery.
Portugal Attacker Cristiano Ronaldo Wins 2014 Fifa Ballon d'Or
The former Manchester United star has moved level with Cruyff, Platini and Van Basten on three wins, with only Messi ahead of him on four Ballon d'Or trophies.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Recent Post